Barents Regional Youth Council (BRYC)

BRYC Annual Meeting 2018_group photo[1].edited.JPG

The Barents Regional Youth Council (BRYC) was established in February 2004. The main goal of BRYC is to promote the idea of living in the high north as a unique opportunity for young people to express themselves.

“Our core values are tolerance, cooperation, reliability, justice and love, as a basis of everything we do!”

The council consists of one youth representative from each county, oblast, republic and okrug in the region and one representative for indigenous youth.

The 15 members of BRYC are working towards the strengthening of youth cooperation in the Barents Region. BRYC members are either elected by the youth council in their region, or chosen by their county administration based on the following criteria. The candidate must:

  • be in the age group 18-30
  • have good English knowledge (spoken and written)
  • have knowledge and/an interest about youth issues in their region
  • be interested in international cooperation


BRYC also has a board, consisting of five representatives: one from each of the four Barents countries and one indigenous representative. BRYC elects a new Board every year, during the BRYC Annual Meeting. The Board is elected among the existing BRYC members and functions as an executive body, responsible for the implementation of the annual Action Plan. Members of the Board also represent BRYC, and promotes Barents youth issues, in the Barents Regional Council.

Join us on Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/barentsyouth

                                                             

bryc logo PNG.png

 

Barents Regional Youth Council 2019-20
 

 RegionRepresentativeContact
 Finland
1KainuuPetri Pesonenkainuu@barentsyouth.org
2LaplandJolanda Maggalapland@barentsyouth.org
3Northern OstrobothniaRiikka Karppinennorthern_ostrobothnia@barentsyouth.org
4North KareliaJere Juntunennorthkarelia@barentsyouth.org
 Norway
5FinnmarkMichael Krotov (Deputy Chair)finnmark@barentsyouth.org
6NordlandJone Måsøynordland@barentsyouth.org
7TromsBrage Bolstad Andreassentroms@barentsyouth.org
 Sweden
8NorrbottenAlexandra Möllernorrbotten@barentsyouth.org
9VästerbottenTim Anderssonvasterbotten@barentsyouth.org
 Russia
10ArkhangelskIrina Zhiganovaarkhangelsk@barentsyouth.org
11KareliaAnastasia Romanovakarelia@barentsyouth.org
12KomiAlexander Terentiev komi@barentsyouth.org
13MurmanskDaria Makhotinamurmansk@barentsyouth.org
14Nenets AOAlena Safonovanenets@barentsyouth.org
 Indigenous  
15Indigenous representativeAugust Sjøvoll (Chair)indigenous@barentsyouth.org

 

 

 

2013-01-10 Elizaveta Vassilieva