Barents Regional Youth Council (BRYC)

BRYC Annual Meeting 2018_group photo[1].edited.JPG

The Barents Regional Youth Council (BRYC) was established in February 2004. The main goal of BRYC is to promote the idea of living in the high north as a unique opportunity for young people to express themselves.

“Our core values are tolerance, cooperation, reliability, justice and love, as a basis of everything we do!”

The council consists of one youth representative from each county, oblast, republic and okrug in the region and one representative for indigenous youth.

The 15 members of BRYC are working towards the strengthening of youth cooperation in the Barents Region. BRYC members are either elected by the youth council in their region, or chosen by their county administration based on the following criteria. The candidate must:

  • be in the age group 18-30
  • have good English knowledge (spoken and written)
  • have knowledge and/an interest about youth issues in their region
  • be interested in international cooperation


BRYC also has a board, consisting of five representatives: one from each of the four Barents countries and one indigenous representative. BRYC elects a new Board every year, during the BRYC Annual Meeting. The Board is elected among the existing BRYC members and functions as an executive body, responsible for the implementation of the annual Action Plan. Members of the Board also represent BRYC, and promotes Barents youth issues, in the Barents Regional Council.

Join us on Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/barentsyouth

                                                             

bryc logo PNG.png

 

Barents Regional Youth Council 2019-20
 

  Region Representative Contact
 

 

Finland

1 Kainuu Petri Pesonen kainuu@barentsyouth.org
2 Lapland Jolanda Magga (Board Member) lapland@barentsyouth.org
3 Northern Ostrobothnia Riikka Karppinen northern_ostrobothnia@barentsyouth.org
4 North Karelia Jere Juntunen northkarelia@barentsyouth.org
 

 

Norway

5 Finnmark Michael Krotov (Deputy Chair) finnmark@barentsyouth.org
6 Nordland - nordland@barentsyouth.org
7 Troms Martin Gamst Johnsen troms@barentsyouth.org
 

 

Sweden

8 Norrbotten Alexandra Möller (Board Member) norrbotten@barentsyouth.org
9 Västerbotten Tim Andersson (International Secretary) vasterbotten@barentsyouth.org
 

 

Russia

10 Arkhangelsk Irina Zhiganova arkhangelsk@barentsyouth.org
11 Karelia Anastasia Romanova karelia@barentsyouth.org
12 Komi Alexander Terentiev  komi@barentsyouth.org
13 Murmansk Daria Makhotina (Board Member) murmansk@barentsyouth.org
14 Nenets AO Alena Safonova nenets@barentsyouth.org
  Indigenous

 

 
15 Indigenous representative August Sjøvoll (Chair) indigenous@barentsyouth.org

 

 

 

Print this RSS