Joint Working Group on Youth

The main purpose of the Joint Working Group on Youth (JWGY) is to further promote young people’s active citizenship and strengthen the networks and international contacts of young people. The Working Group also plays an important part in the implementation of the Barents Regional Youth Programme.

The JWGY consists of representatives from the ministerial and regional administrative levels of authorities responsible for youth policy.

The Working Group has a close cooperation with the Barents Regional Youth Council.

In 2002, the JWGY founded the Barents Youth Cooperation Office (BYCO) in Murmansk. BYCO's purpose was to provide information to youth groups about funding opportunities, potential partners and relevant activities in the Barents Region. The JWGY gave BYCO its mandate and funding, while BYCO reported back to the Working Group. BYCO was operating until 2016, and due to unforseen financial circumstances, the Office was forced to close down. 

The Norwegian Barents Secretariat in Kirkenes functions as a Secretariat for the Joint Working Group on Youth.

 

Chairmanship and members of the Joint Working Group on Youth

Sweden holds the BEAC Chairmanship for the period 2017-2019, and therefore currently chairs the Joint Working Group on Youth.

MINISTERIAL LEVEL

Norway

Tommy André Knutsen

Ministry of Children, Equality and Social Inclusion   

tommy-andre.knutsen@bld.dep.no

Finland

Seija Astala

Ministry of Education and Culture

seija.astala@minedu.fi

Russia

Dmitry Ivanov

Agency for Youth Affairs of the Russian Federation  divanov@fadm.gov.ru

Sweden

Lotta Jarvenius Rössner

Swedish Agency for Youth and Civil Society

lotta.rossner@mucf.se

REGIONAL LEVEL

Russia

Grigoriy Kovalev

Alexei Pisarev

Arkhangelsk Region

Murmansk Region

kovalevgr@dvinaland.ru

pisarev@gov-murman.ru 

Sweden

Mikael Bergström

Västerbotten 

mikael.bergstrom@lansstyrelsen.se

Norway

Hanne-Sofie Roaldsen

Troms

hanne.roaldsen@tromsfylke.no

Finland

Minna Mustonen

Kainuu

minna.mustonen@kainuu.fi 

OTHER MEMBERS

Tatiana Egorova

Inna Fedorova

Elizaveta Vassilieva

Indigenous Peoples' representative

Chairperson, Barents Regional Youth Council

Youth Coordinator, Norwegian Barents Secretariat

tatiana@barents.no

murmansk@barentsyouth.org

elizaveta@barents.no

Print this RSS